Vacation & Storms… Oh my!!!

Standard

I know it’s been quite a while since I posted, but we went on a fabulous vacation to go visit my family in Alabama. We left a day earlier than planned in an attempt to miss all the hurricane traffic. Hurricane Irene was heading right for us and had we left the day we had originally planned then we probably would have been stuck in evacuation traffic! We were hit directly by the storm and personally had some damage, but it could have been much, much worse! As many of you know, we live in a loft apartment in our barn. However, since we had babies, my husband added on a couple of rooms as well as a laundry room to the downstairs area. We got about 8-10 inches of water in our down stairs area. All I know to say is thank the Lord for family! Aaron’s family jumped right in when we needed them! During the eye of the storm and ripped up the carpet, emptied the rooms, dried out our belongings etc. I don’t know what we would have done without them! We would have certainly been in a mess coming home to that!

On a lighter note, we had a wonderful visit with my family! I wish so much that we all lived closer to one another! A couple of highlights of our trip included Possum Day and a trip to the Birmingham Zoo! Yes… Cullman has a Possum Day! And if I can remember correctly, if the possum came out and felt a breeze, fall is coming early! If he didn’t, it was going to be so many week later. Well, thank the Lord the Possum felt a breeze! HA HA! To make the story more interesting, the week of Possum Day, the possum died! How awful is that??? They had to call in the back ups… Possum from the zoo! Anyways, we went as my dad’s band was playing for the event. We had such a great time!

We took the babies, Eliza, Jude and Camp to the zoo on Wednesday. It was SO much fun. Jude was a bit tiny to realize what was going on, but Eliza and Camp were intrigued by all the animals! It was extremely hot, but they had a little water area for the kids. Camp and Eliza had a blast!!! I posted a few of the pictures here!

The week went by way too fast, but it was so much fun! Now, back to the grind at home!

Lenee’

One response »

  1. I just realized when I read this post that we didn’t see any possums at the zoo. I guess we didn’t make it that far? Miss you so much!

Leave a Reply

